Pasta with Brussels Sprouts

DSCF0005I’m a big fan of the NY Times Dining Section and this recipe owes its origins to the wonderful Melissa Clark.  I’ve made this pasta a few times and it’s always delicious.  Today I was thinking about it while driving home, almost tasting it really, and I knew I had all the ingredients in the house, but when I reached home, I couldn’t find the recipe anywhere.  I searched, I munched on chocolate (I was hungry!), and I searched some more.  Voila!  And now I’m adding it here so that I won’t misplace it again (think of all the chocolate calories that could have been avoided if I had headed right to the stove).

Ingredients for 2 servings

  • 8 oz penne (or similar pasta)
  • 8 oz brussels sprouts, thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 oz prosciutto (the original recipe calls for pancetta, but I never have that on hand, any ham-like meat will do), cut into small pieces
  • 1 large rosemary sprig (or a sprinkling of dried rosemary)
  • 6 garlic cloves, peeled, crushed
  • 2 tsp butter
  • 1 large pinch red pepper flakes
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Cook the pasta and prepare your veggies (slice, peel garlic, etc.).
  2. Heat a large saute pan over medium-high heat and add the olive oil.  Add the proscuitto and rosemary and saute for about 1 minute.
  3. Add the garlic, red pepper, and black pepper.  Saute about 3 minutes.
  4. Add the brussels sprouts, a pinch of salt, and a splash of water.  Saute until the sprouts start to soften, about 2 minutes.
  5. Spread sprouts in pan and press down to flatten and sear, about 1 minute.  Stir up and repeat the searing process.  The sprouts should brown.
  6. Add the butter and saute for another minute.
  7. Toss the pasta and brussels sprouts together.  Eat happily.
Leave a Reply

